15 Pounds in 2 Months?

I’ve gone from 165 in late July to about 180 right now - how much of this can I reasonably expect to be muscle? I’m a newbie who started on Rippetoes in late July and started lifting with (something approximating) proper form in early to mid-August (can’t find the day’s workout sheet.)

Just curious if this is a good rate of progress, amount of muscle to fat, etc so I know whether to adjust or not. I know beginners can make some crazy gains, but not sure that’s the case here.

Current stats with good form:

3x225x5 squats
1x115x5 bench press
1x255x5 deadlift
3x85x5 standing military press
5x105x3 power clean

Photo is current - thanks!

This is a photo from July for comparison. I’ve been making strength gains (starting to stall and slow down now) but I haven’t seen a clear increase in muscle or anything.

Obviously I wasn’t expecting to get ‘swole’ or anything, but just noting this (good people on T-Nation have told me that the main gains for teenagers are neurological and have to do with bearing weight and learning to use your body properly.)

Next time try the same pose, same camera angle, and same lighting for comparison pics.

That having been said, you look like you are the same bf% level. And looks like you gained a little size, but its hard to tell with the different pictures and poses.

Oh yea, shuddup and lift

The gains are visible, but it would help to have comparisons of the same pose. What has your diet been like and what’s the typical rep range you lift with?

Well, gaining 15 lbs in 8 weeks is a lot of weight. Judging by your physique I would say that an above-average amount was stored as fat. That is not to take away your gains, as you have made great ones thus far.