T Nation

15 Grams of Protein An Hour?

I was talking to a woman who claimed your body can only digest 15grams an hour of protein. She said that if you eat more than 15 an hour they dont do anything for your muscles. Sometimes I eat like 70grams in one meal and after she told me this, I started trying to space out my protein intake. I find this hard to beleive but I'm not an expert.....somone help me out?

I forget the article, I think it was the webcast article with TC about EAS though, but he said it all stemmed from Lou Firougno (sp) saying you can only ingest like 30 or 35 g of protein in a sitting. There is no scientific evidence of anything like that. Something like digestion would vary among size of the individual, enzymes digested, etc. You can also look at the protein roundtable for this fallacy debunked.

This would be a great topic to research.

I would like to see which body type could digest protein faster:

A huge bodybuilder who just got done with a serious workout, and body is used to having lots of protein, thus expects it during the post-workout stage.

Or a skinny guy with a fast metabolism who just got done doing some sort of strenuous exercise.

Or maybe even someone like me, who has a decent metabolism and build but also is a diabetic and can control his own insulin levels. Assuming I would be in an exhausted post workout state and just took a big shot of the 'slin, how fast would I digest the protein?? ...

Interesting possibilities.... any answers?

Well, there is going to be a rate of digestion as well as a rate of absorption throughout the body, which is probably dependent upon the amount of hungry muscle waiting to grab some available aminos.

I'd guess you'll get some type of g/kg/hr out of this.

Just ask her for her source.