T Nation

14 Year Old Beginning

I have been in Kung-Fu for approximately a year, and I just discovered resistance training/weight training. I used to do basic stuff like push-ups and sit ups, but now that I'm in high-school I have the opportunity to go to the gym everyday at lunch.

I'm 127 pounds, 5'6 - 5'7 inches tall, and my BF% is roughly 9%. Oh, and before I forget, I will probably be getting subtractable weights for Christmas too :smiley:

I'm pretty new to all the equipment and what it's purpose is, but I'm gaining the knowledge slowly. I'm fairly strong for my age, actually, I can lift more than people much bigger and taller that visit the gym daily (not that it matters).

I've been reading a lot of articles about gaining weight and building muscle, eating properly, and such...but does any of that really apply to someone my age?

Hey there! Welcome to the site!

Yes, what is written in the articles very much applies to you. However, most of the workouts and concerns presented in the articles are more important to advanced/intermediate trainees than beginners like yourself.

Go search for and read the Are You a Beginner thread by Vroom. Loads of great info for you.

Keep in mind that your progress will largely be controlled by what you eat.

-Fireplug

Welcome aboard. The article are you a beginner is a good read for you :slight_smile:

First thing, I wouldn't plan on being in there every day. Enthusiasm is great, but burning out too quick isn't something we want to do. Keep learning whatever you can, that's a great start. But I will say, don't give up on the push-ups, sit-ups, and pull-ups (you do do some pull-ups, right?) Those are classics and will definitely be important.

Gosh!! Luckyyyy.

Only if you want to become stronger, faster, and better looking than other dudes your age. :slightly_smiling: