T Nation

12 Weeks Out with 12lbs to Lose

Alright guys so this is my first show I’m going to be competing in. I have 12 weeks to loose 12 lbs. I weighed in today at 189. For men’s Classic Physique Division B 5’7 up to 5’8 I need to come in at 177.

Do you guys think this is enough time to make weight? I’ve never tried to loose weight like this before nor have I ever competed. Just thought I’de get some feedback as I really would like to make this happen. I will post my 5 poses when I can get some time to have my girl shoot them for me so you have an idea where I’m sitting. But for now I’m just worried I’m not going to be able to loose the weight in time. And if I do, will it be healthy?

12 lbs in 12 weeks is entirely doable and not even close to some of the unhealthy weekly goals some competitors try to hit. How’re you looking this far out?

S

Honesty I feel a little bloated. I have been over doing my carbs this weekend. I’m going to start cardio this week. Most likely 2-3 times a week for 30min sessions. My diet will be pretty consistent and boring as I slowly start dropping things in the coming weeks. Also think I will be getting a scale for more precise measurements in food.
An example day of food for me consists of

1 piece of fruit
3 egg whites 2 whole
Protein shake
Granola and yogurt

Tuna packet
Avocado
Protein shake

Chicken breast lightly seasoned
1 cup broccoli
1/4 cup brown rice

Sweet potato
Pre workout shake
Apple

Post workout shake
3 pieces (small) Tilapia
1 cup broccoli

Chicken breast
Avocado

Also I am terrible at posing so please forgive me as it is going to be a learning curve for me. I can’t seem to get my back poses down at all.