12 Week "Brian Alsruhe" Linear Program, How to Ramp Weights?

Hi,

I have been doing starting strength for about six months. Got a lot stronger, but gained a lot of weight during that time (I ate way too much), so I started a three month keto diet a couple weeks ago to lose about 20lbs (want to get to around ~15% bf @ 180lbs).

I’m a huge fan of Brian Alsruhe, and want to give his linear program a try. I like the idea of training four days a week, doing an antagonist movement with the main move, and upping my work capacity. I also want to experiment with different rep schemes and see how my body responds. Plus, his approach sounds like it will burn a hell of a lot of calories, helping me cut the fat.

I’ve never done ramping weights, so I’m not 100% how to do them, but this is what I’m thinking:

Weeks 1-4: 4x8 - Last set at 80% 1RM. Set 1 @ 75% of top set, set 2 @ 85%, set 3 @ 90%
Weeks 5-8: 5x5 - Last set at 87% 1RM. Progression: 75% / 80% / 85% / 90%
Weeks 9-12: 10x3 - Last set at 93% 1RM. Progression similar to above (start at 75%, end at 90%)

Progression: If last set is achieved for primary lift, increase upper by 2kg, lower by 4kg. Else, stay at weight.

Deload: With ramping weights, is this needed? At least as long as second to last set is hit — otherwise take off 10% weight.

In general, first giant set is focused on the primary lift, with the second adding practice for the other upper or lower lift (ex, bench on OHP day) and unilateral work. Second giant set probably also stays at 4x8, because I don’t want to be in the gym all day doing 10x3 across all sets, and also for practice.

All rests are 90 seconds between sets.

Day 1: OHP
Main Giant Set: Pendlay row (due to golfer’s elbow I can’t do pull-ups right now, but once that heals I’ll do those instead), OHP, obliques (Suitcase deadlift, landmines, etc)
Secondary Giant Set: Single arm landmine row, bench, obliques
Assistance Giant Set: Divebomber pushups (4x??), face pull (4x10)

Day 2: Deadlift