10lbs Gained and 2% Lower BF in 5 Months while on Week 7 TRT

I got bf% checked and I went from 23.7% 202lbs and now I’m 21.7% 212lbs. Both was measured using bodyfat calipers. I’ve been lifting consistently for over 4 months it’ll be 5 months on the 21st of this month.

Why does my clothes feel like I got fatter? Shirts are tighter around belly area and pants are tighter too. I thought I was going to be like 28-30% because I’ve been eating nothing but junk practically last few months so I was surprised bodyfat% actually went down!

1st time I checked within 30min or so after cardio. 2nd time I checked 1-2 hrs after lifting and 30+mins after after finishing cardio as I did both this day.

Should I check again or in 1 month?

Did you perform the bodyfat measurement yourself, or was it performed by someone else?

If your readings are accurate:
Beginning LBM = 154.126
Ending LBM = 165.996
LBM +11.87

I’m guessing you didn’t drop from 23.7% to 21.7% while gaining 10 pounds over four months.

1 Like

Both times calipers were done by trainer at 24 hour fitness.

I wouldn’t trust that measurement to mean much.

2 Likes

They’re better than that stupid electic handle thingy. Is it possible for a beginner litter to gain 11lbs lean body mass last 3-4 months while I’m starting my 7th weekly 100mg TRT injection today?

Absolutely, in much the same way that bleach is a better beverage choice than draino.

If your stomach is bigger, you’ve gained 11lbs, and you’ve been eating mostly junk, you gotta apply a little Occam’s Razor on this one.

7 Likes

this is like The Emperor’s New Clothes

2 Likes

Wtf lol

No. There’s zero point in ever checking bodyfat percentage. The 2% points are well within the basic margin of error for calipers and the trainer should have explained it to you. I’m guessing he didn’t because it’s an error in his favor and makes him look like he knows his shit, which he doesn’t.