T Nation

10 Things I Wish I Learned Sooner

hey i’m new to the T-Nation. pretty stoked to be here and just wanted to share some of the things that i wish i knew when i first started bodybuilding. hope some of you guys can weigh in and add to the list.

1. as much as you think you are eating, it aint enough.

2. relating to #1, upping carbs will never get your calories where they need to be. high healthy fat diet is the way to go. nuts, nuff’ said.

3. you can squat three times a week but you cant bench three times a week

4. muscle failure is way past where you think it is.

5. taking a week off for recovery every couple months IS necessary

6. bad posture outside the gym will mess up all your lifts

7. eat your fuckin vegetables or get Biotest Superfood

8. your chest looks like shit cuz your back looks like shit

9. heavy deadlifting wont break your back, trust me. rack pull with weight past your deadlift 1rm, you’ll see.

10. T-Nation has articles that are reliable and written by people that know whats up.

1. don’t ever listen to what people have to tell you in the gym, unless they happen to be a renowned lifting coach (which they never are)

Welcome to the forums!

Now to business;

I hope you mean at least a deload for #5, rather than an actual week off; otherwise you may need to re-relearn that.

Hey. Some good points but hmm…

[quote]actionboy wrote:
2. relating to #1, upping carbs will never get your calories where they need to be.[/quote]

Huh?

[quote]actionboy wrote:
[/quote]

I think if you can squat 3 times a week then you’re either not using very much weight or you’re training like a pansy (or you have knees made out of titanium and screws for tendons).

[quote]actionboy wrote:
[/quote]

Muscle failure seems to have about 500 different definitions.

[quote]actionboy wrote:
[/quote]

If you’re finding this to be the case then maybe you’re overdoing it? I’ve never needed a whole fucking week off! Then again if I was squatting 3 times a week I might.